The Who – Odds & Sods (1974/2015) [ProStudioMasters 24bit/96kHz]

The Who – Odds & Sods (1974/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 71:18 minutes | 1.48 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source:  | © Geffen Records
Recorded: 1964-1973

Odds & Sods is an album comprised of studio outtakes by The Who, intended to counter the rampant bootlegging of live Who shows that was going on at the time. The material was compiled by John Entwistle, while the rest of the band was preparing for the Tommy film. The album was released in 1974 and contains material recorded between 1964 and 1973.

Odds & Sods, a compilation of outtakes and rarities from the Who’s first decade, is a rather jumpy listen that harbors few songs that could be termed top of the line. Also, since its 1974 release, several of the tracks have been issued on other compilations, or as bonus tracks to CD reissues of legitimate Who albums. Setting your expectations at the appropriate level, however, you’ll find much of this worthwhile. “Pure and Easy,” “Naked Eye,” and “Long Live Rock” were all concert favorites of the group in the ’70s; “Glow Girl” introduced some riffs that would resurface in Tommy; and “Postcard,” John Entwistle’s tale of rock life on the road, was one of his better compositions. This also has their very first single, “I’m the Face,” recorded in 1964 when the group were known as the High Numbers. The 1998 CD reissue is a must-have even if you’ve got the original LP, as it doubles the album size with a dozen bonus tracks, most previously unreleased. These include some really interesting items: the Motown covers “Leaving Here” and “Baby Don’t You Do It” are taken from demos circa late 1964, the latter track featuring some early guitar distortion freak-out in the solo; “Mary Anne with the Shaky Hand” is the rare U.S. B-side version; there are late-’60s studio versions of Live at Leeds faves “Summertime Blues” and “Young Man Blues”; the Rolling Stones’ cover “Under My Thumb” and “Water” are B-sides that weren’t on an album for a long time; and there are less exciting alternates and outtakes from Tommy, Who’s Next and Quadrophenia. -Richie Unterberger

1. I’m The Face 02:34
2. Summertime Blues 03:15
3. Under My Thumb 02:39
4. Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand 02:09
5. My Way 02:26
6. Faith In Something Bigger 03:07
7. Glow Girl 02:22
8. Little Billy 02:14
9. Young Man Blues 02:51
10. Cousin Kevin Model Child 01:28
11. Love Ain’t For Keeping 04:07
12. Time Is Passing 03:33
13. Pure And Easy 05:25
14. Too Much Of Anything 04:23
15. Long Live Rock 04:00
16. Put The Money Down 04:02
17. We Close Tonight 03:03
18. Postcard 03:33
19. Now I’m A Farmer 04:10
20. Water 04:41
21. Naked Eye 05:16

Roger Daltrey – vocals, harmonica
John Entwistle – bass guitar, brass, vocals, lead vocals on “Postcard” and “We Close Tonight”
Keith Moon – drums, lead vocals on “Cousin Kevin Model Child”, partial lead vocals on “We Close Tonight” and “Now I’m a Farmer”
Pete Townshend – guitar, piano, bass guitar, synthesizer, vocals
Leslie West – lead guitar on “Love Ain’t For Keeping”


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.