The Herbie Mann & Sam Most Quintet – The Mann With The Most (1956/2014) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Herbie Mann & Sam Most Quintet – The Mann With The Most (1956/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:05 minutes | 876 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Front Cover | © Bethlehem Records

1956 album of eleven genial, high-spirited tracks featuring Mann and Most trading bright, up-tempo, virtually saxophonic flute solos. They work over an energetic backdrop provided by guitarist Joe Puma, bassist Jimmy Gannon, and drummer Lee Kleinman. Most of the tracks are brisk and cheerful, although a few tastefully spare ballads (“Love Letters”) are also included.

Flutist Herbie Mann’s first recording as a leader. Even back in 1954, Mann (who doubles here on flute and alto flute) had his own sound. The music (featuring either Benny Weeks or Joe Puma on guitar in a piano-less quartet) is essentially straight-ahead bop and finds Mann playing quite melodically and with swing. This set is a good example of Herbie Mann’s early style before he started exploring various types of world musics.

01 – Fascinating Rhythm
02 – Ol’ Man River: Why Do I Love You?
03 – It’s Only Sunshine
04 – Love Letters
05 – Let’s Get Away from It All: Let’s Get Away From It All
06 – Flying Home
07 – I’ll Remember April
08 – Empathy
09 – It Might As Well Be Spring
10 – Just One of Those Things: Just One Of Those Things
11 – Seven Come Eleven

Recorded on October 12 & 17, 1955 in New York City.
Remastered in 2013.

Herbie Mann – flute
Sam Most – flute
Joe Puma – guitar
Jimmy Gannon – bass
Lee Kleinman – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?